This site requires JavaScript!
This site requires JavaScript!
This site requires JavaScript!
This site requires JavaScript!

"Intersex" is an umbrella term for a great many conditions, and some of these conditions happen to be disabling (for exemple, a lot of conditions that involve "not producing enough testosterone" imply a risk of osteoporosis, because well, that's what testosterone is for.)

Now I hopefully don't have to tell you "disabled people deserve basic respect and bodily autonomy." I'm not writing this post as a manifesto of acceptance of disability. I'm writing this post because, as I have probably said in a previous post, the first doctor I've ever seen for my intersex condition immediately tried to remove my intersex traits. That was dumb and dangerous.

If you or your child have visible intersex traits, like boobs, or hair in unlikely places, or a big clit, or what-have-you: do not let doctors swindle you into doing cosmetic changes without knowing the reason behind those traits. Maybe you're like me, and your intersex condition has no impact on your health, and that's great! In which case you can do whatever you want with your body, and if getting cosmetic surgery is what will make you happy, it's not my place to stop you. But also maybe you have facial hair because you have testes in your belly, which are at increased risk of developping cancer. [EDIT 24/07/2024: I have just learned that "having internal testes carry an increased risk of cancer" is a large exageration of real-life risks, and that excuse to perform surgery came up YEARS after surgetically removing internal testes became the norms. Literally can't trust doctors for shit when it comes to intersex variations.] I've heard multiple stories of intersex people with hormone imbalance who were prescribed hormones deemed "correct" for their assigned gender, which were absolutely not what they needed for their health and in fact made them sicker.

I want people to stop trying to get me to a doctor when my intersex condition has no health impact. But I also want my intersex brethens whose conditions do have an impact to be well-cared for, and that simply won't be possible until doctors learn that "looking outside of male/female norms is not a problem to fix in itself."

This site requires JavaScript!